The Definitive Guide to Driving Without Insurance

Expired auto insurance consequences


Expired auto insurance consequences

Consequences for Driving without Insurance

If you don’t have insurance or if you’re thinking about not having it anymore, you’d be joining the roughly one in eight people in the US (or one in four in Florida!) who made the same decision, according to a study by the Insurance Research Council.

For those without insurance, it’s likely because it feels unaffordable, or that it’s a rip-off. Which can be understandable considering that the average American pays almost $1000 a year for it, which is 1.7% of the median salary ($59,039). That may sound like a small percentage, but the average American only has 59 of those 1.7% chunks to go around each year!

Fortunately, we took the time to break down the process of what will happen from when insurance is first dropped to when the consequences kick in, and an analysis of whether the savings in skipping insurance are worth the costs.

Is it Illegal to Not have Car Insurance?

Turns out, yep. It is illegal to not have car insurance a car has current registration or is being driven. The only exception is if you live in New Hampshire. Insurance is not technically required there, but you’ll still be liable for costs if you cause an accident. Also, you can have your driving privileges suspended. So pretty much may as well be illegal. If the car will not be used, there are other options.

If you want to see our list of each state’s specific penalties, see below.

Since many people lack insurance regardless of the costs, let’s assume the case that the benefits do outweigh the costs. In that case, consider the cost of not having insurance if you get in an accident.

As for what happens if a driver does not pay for their car insurance, see here.

Likelihood of crash. Source: AAA Foundation

If you have an accident, you’re liable for $18,900 (on average)

For the typical American who drives about 13,500 miles per year, odds are you’ll get in an accident at least once in a 20 year period.

When You’re at Fault

Regardless of whether the other driver has insurance, if you have an accident during that time, you’ll be liable on average for roughly $18,900 to the other party, plus an average of $3425 to your vehicle. When you take into account the extra fines, fees, and court costs, it’s unlikely that you’ll come out ahead by not having insurance.

If that’s not enough, many states also have much steeper consequences for involvement in (and especially the cause of) an accident without insurance. Jail time, multi-year license and registration suspensions or revocations, and thousands of dollars in fines are all on the table at this point.

In a No-Fault State

If you’re in a no-fault state, the other driver’s damages will generally be covered by their own insurer. But in some states, the other driver could still sue you if the amount of damage meets a certain threshold. These are expressed either verbally (such as significant disfigurement, death) or monetarily (medical bills) depending on the state. As with “At Fault” states, damage you or your vehicle suffer is on you.

The average cost of claims. Source: Insurance Information Institute

If Another Driver is at Fault

What Happens if you get Hit by Someone With Insurance

In the case where the other driver is at fault and has insurance, you can file a claim against their policy. You would be able to make a claim for “economic” damages such as bodily injury or property damage. But many states have “No Pay No Play” laws as a penalty to the uninsured, which prevents claims for “non-economic” types of damage such as pain and suffering, loss of companionship, and mental anguish. For any damages you cannot make a claim on, you would have to sue in the small claims court.

What Happens if you get Hit by Someone Without Insurance

In this case, the only (small) chance of making a claim would be if the other driver was a minor who doesn’t have insurance, but whose parents do. Under the Family Purpose Doctrine which exists in some states, it’s possible that the liability from the minor could transfer to the parents (and their insurance if they have any).

Assuming that’s not the case, then the only recourse is to sue for damages in small claims court. The downside is that even if successful and you receive a favorable judgment, the other driver may not have any money to pay. This is likely because it’s a major reason drivers don’t have insurance in the first place. At that point, the only options would be to try to file a lien or garnish wages.

In a No-Fault State

This case is similar to if you got hit by someone without insurance.  The main difference is that, depending on the state, you won’t be able to sue for damages unless they pass a certain verbal or monetary threshold, as mentioned above.

Verdict

Even in more lenient states which offer less harsh penalties, the average costs of not having insurance once you get in an accident generally outweigh the costs of the insurance itself. (Check out your state below to see the specific penalties.)

This makes some sense when you consider it’s the reason people pool risk in the first place. If you decide you want insurance, or want a better price or quality of service, you can compare a complete list of all companies in your state for free at Honest Policy.

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance by State

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in AL

First Offense:

  • $500 max fine
  • 3 month max jail time
  • 45 days registration suspension
  • Car impounded
  • $200 reinstatement fee and proof of insurance for 1 year

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $1000-$3000 fine
  • 6 months max jail time
  • 4 months registration suspension
  • Car impounded
  • $400 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in AK

First Offense:

  • $500 fine
  • 90 days license suspension or 3 years if at fault in an accident
  • SR-22 for 3 years

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $500 fine
  • 1 year of license suspension or 3 years if at fault in an accident
  • SR-22 for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in AZ

First Offense:

  • $500 fine
  • 3 months license and registration suspension
  • $35 reinstatement fee
  • SR-22 for 2 years

Second Offense:

  • $750 fine
  • 6 months license and registration suspension
  • $35 reinstatement fee
  • SR-22 for 2 years

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $1000 fine
  • 1 year of license and registration suspension
  • $35 reinstatement fee
  • SR-22 for 2 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in AR

First Offense:

  • $50-250 fine unless providing proof of insurance within 10 days
  • License plate removal, registration suspension, and if involved in an accident, vehicle impoundment
  • $20 reinstatement fee, and proof of insurance or SR-22

Second Offense:

  • $250-500 fine
  • License plate removal, registration suspension and if involved in an accident, vehicle impoundment
  • $20 reinstatement fee, and proof of insurance or SR-22

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $500-1000 fine
  • Possibly up to 1 year of imprisonment
  • License plate removal, registration suspension and if involved in an accident, vehicle impoundment
  • $20 reinstatement fee, and proof of insurance or SR-22

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in CA

First Offense:

  • $360-720 fine
  • The vehicle may be impounded
  • If involved in an accident, 1 year of license suspension and SR-22 for 3 years

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $720-1800 fine
  • The vehicle may be impounded
  • If involved in an accident, up to 4 years of license suspension and SR-22 for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in CO

First Offense:

  • Minimum $500 fine
  • Possibly 40 hours of community service
  • License and registration suspended until insurance is acquired
  • $40 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years
  • 4 points on your license

Second Offense:

  • Minimum $1000 fine
  • Maximum 40 hours of community service
  • 10 days to 1 year of imprisonment
  • License and registration suspended for 4 months
  • $40 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years
  • 4 points on your license

Subsequent Offenses:

  • Minimum $1000 fine
  • Maximum 40 hours of community service
  • 10 days to 1 year of imprisonment
  • License and registration suspended for 8 months
  • $40 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years
  • 4 points on your license

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in CT

First Offense:

  • $500 fine for the owner of the vehicle
  • $100-1000 fine for the driver of the vehicle
  • Possible 1-3 months of imprisonment
  • 1 month of license and registration suspension
  • $175 reinstatement fee and SR-22

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $500 fine for the owner of the vehicle
  • $100-1000 fine for the driver of the vehicle
  • Possible 1-3 months of imprisonment
  • 6 months of license and registration suspension
  • $175 reinstatement fee and SR-22

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in DE

First Offense:

  • $1500-2000 fine
  • 6 months of license suspension
  • $50 reinstatement fee and FR-19

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $3000-4000 fine
  • 6 months of license suspension
  • $50 reinstatement fee and FR-19

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in FL

All Offenses:

  • Up to 3 years of license and registration suspension if proof of insurance is not presented in time
  • Reinstatement fee may be waived if insurance is provided in time
  • The license can be reapplied for once insurance is acquired

First Offense:

  • $150 reinstatement fee

Second Offense:

  • $250 reinstatement fee

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $500 reinstatement fee if within 3 years of the first offense

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in GA

First Offense:

  • $200-1000 fine
  • 60 days of license and registration suspension
  • Up to 1 year of imprisonment
  • $200-210 reinstatement fee and SR-22A for 3 years

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $200-1000 fine
  • 90 days of license and registration suspension
  • Up to 1 year of imprisonment
  • $300-310 reinstatement fee and SR-22A for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in HI

First Offense:

    • $500 fine or 75-100 hours of community service
    • 3 months of license suspension or until proof of insurance is provided
    • SR-22 for 3 years

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $1000-5000 fine and 200-275 hours of community service
  • 1 year of license suspension or until proof of insurance provided
  • SR-22 for 3 years
  • Suspension of registration, impounding of the vehicle, and/or up to 30 days imprisonment if within 5 years of the first offense

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in ID

First Offense:

  • $131.50 fine
  • License suspension until proof of insurance is provided
  • $85 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 1 year

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $1000 maximum fine
  • License suspension until proof of insurance is provided
  • $85 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years
  • Up to 6 months of imprisonment

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in IL

First and Second Offense:

  • $500-1000 fine, with an additional $1000 if plates are already suspended
  • 3 months of license and registration suspension
  • $100 reinstatement fee

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $1000 fine, with an additional $1000 if plates are already suspended
  • 4 months of license and registration suspension
  • $100 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in IN

First Offense:

  • 90 days minimum license suspension
  • $250 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years

Second Offense:

  • 1 year of license suspension, plus a possible year of registration suspension
  • $500 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years

Subsequent Offenses:

  • 1 year of license suspension, plus a possible 1 year of registration suspension
  • $1000 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 5 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in IA

All Offenses:

  • $250 fine or community service
  • Registration suspended or vehicle impounded
  • $15 reinstatement fee and proof of insurance or SR-22

If in an Accident:

  • $250 fine
  • 1 year of license and registration suspension if damage exceeds $1500, along with registration suspension on all vehicles owned by the driver
  • $235 reinstatement fee, and proof of insurance or SR-22
  • Vehicle impounded
  • Need a passing grade on a knowledge test, driving exam, and vision test

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in KS

First Offense:

  • $300-1000 fine
  • Up to 6 months of imprisonment
  • License and registration suspension until proof of insurance provided
  • $100 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years

Second Offense:

  • $800-2500 fine
  • Up to 1 year of imprisonment
  • License and registration suspension until proof of insurance provided
  • $300 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $800-2500 fine
  • 1-2 years of imprisonment
  • 3 years license suspension
  • $300 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in KY

First Offense:

  • $500-1000 fine
  • Up to 90 days of imprisonment
  • 1 year of registration suspension or until proof of insurance is provided
  • $40 reinstatement fee

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $1000-2500 fine
  • Up to 180 days of imprisonment
  • 1 year of registration suspension, plus 2 years for every additional offense
  • $40 reinstatement fee and retaking driving exam if suspended over 1 year

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in LA

First Offense:

  • $100 maximum fine
  • License and registration suspended, and vehicle impoundment
  • Prohibited against making collision insurance claims
  • $60 reinstatement fees

Second Offense:

  • $250 maximum fine
  • License and registration suspended, and vehicle impounded
  • Prohibited against making collision insurance claims
  • $160 reinstatement fees

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $700 maximum fine
  • License and registration suspended, and vehicle impoundment
  • Prohibited against making collision insurance claims
  • $510 reinstatement fees

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in ME

All Offenses:

  • $100-500 fine
  • License and registration suspended until proof of insurance is provided
  • $105-115 reinstatement fees and SR-22
  • Up to 6 months of imprisonment and $2000 fine for failure to surrender license and registration

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in MD

First Offense:

  • $1000 fine
  • $150 fee for the first 30 days, plus $7 for each additional day insurance has lapsed
  • 5 points on license
  • Up to 1 year of imprisonment

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $2000 fine
  • $150 fee for the first 30 days, plus $7 for each additional day insurance has lapsed
  • 5 points on license
  • Up to 2 years of imprisonment
  • License and/or registration suspended

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in MA

First Offense:

  • $500 fine plus the larger of either $500, or one full year of premium for insurance
  • 60 days of license and registration suspension
  • $570 reinstatement fees
  • Up to 1 year of imprisonment

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $500-5000 fine plus the larger of either $500, or one full year of premium for insurance
  • 1 year of license and registration suspension
  • $570 reinstatement fees
  • Up to 1 year of imprisonment

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in MI

First Offense:

  • $400 fine over 2 years
  • Up to 30 days license suspension
  • $25 reinstatement fee
  • Up to 1 year of imprisonment

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $100 fine over 2 years
  • Up to 30 days license suspension
  • $125 reinstatement fee
  • Up to 1 year of imprisonment

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in MN

First and Second Offense:

  • $200-1000 fine and/or community service
  • Up to 30 days of license and registration suspension
  • $30 reinstatement fee and SR-22

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $200-3000 and/or community service
  • Up to 1 year of license and registration suspension
  • $30 reinstatement fee and SR-22
  • Up to 90 days of imprisonment

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in MS

All Offenses:

  • $500 fine
  • 1 year of license suspension or until proof of insurance is provided
  • $25 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years
  • Fine may be reduced or waived if proof of insurance is submitted before hearing

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in MO

First Offense:

  • License and registration suspended until proof of insurance is provided
  • $20 reinstatement fee
  • 4 points on license

Second Offense:

  • Up to $500 fine
  • 90 days of license and registration suspension
  • $200 reinstatement fee
  • 4 points on license
  • Up to 15 days of imprisonment

Subsequent Offenses:

  • Up to $500 fine
  • 1 year of license and registration suspension
  • $400 reinstatement fee
  • 4 points on license
  • Up to 15 days of imprisonment

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in MT

First Offense:

  • $250-500 fine
  • Up to 10 days of imprisonment

Second Offense:

  • Minimum $350 fine
  • Up to 10 days of imprisonment
  • 90 days of license revoked
  • 5 points on license; 30 points results in license being revoked

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $500 fine
  • Up to 6 months of imprisonment

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in NE

All Offenses:

  • License and registration suspended until proof of insurance is provided
  • $100 reinstatement fees and SR-22 for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in NV

First Offense:

  • $250 fine for a 31-90 day lapse, $500 for 91-180, or $1000 for 181+ days
  • License suspended until proof of insurance (or SR-22 if lapsed over 90 days) is filed
  • $251 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years if lapsed over 90 days

Second Offense:

  • $500 fine for a 31-90 day lapse, $500 for 91-180, or $1000 for 181+ days
  • License suspended until proof of insurance (or SR-22 if lapsed over 90 days) is filed
  • $501 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years if lapsed over 90 days

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $500 fine for a 31-90 day lapse, $750 for 91-180, or $1000 for 181+ days
  • 30 days license suspension, then until proof of insurance is provided
  • $751 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years regardless of lapse length

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in NH

If in an Accident:

  • License and registration suspended until fees paid and any lawsuits are dealt with
  • $125 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in NJ

First Offense:

  • $300-1000 fine plus additional $750 over 3 years
  • Community service, with duration decided by a court
  • 1 year of license suspension
  • The vehicle is possibly impounded with additional $100 to retrieve it

Second Offense:

  • $500-5000 fine plus additional $750 over 3 years
  • Up to 180 hours (4.5 weeks) of community service
  • 2 year of license suspension, with reinstatement afterward decided by DMV director
  • Possible vehicle impoundment with an additional $100 to retrieve the vehicle
  • Up to 14 days imprisonment

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in NM

All Offenses:

  • Up to $300 fine, or $1000 if license and registration are not surrendered
  • Possibly up to 90 days imprisonment, or 6 months if license and registration are not surrendered
  • $55 reinstatement fee

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in NY

Any Offense:

  • $8/day fine for a lapse of 1-30 days, $10/day for 31-60, and $12/day for 61-90 ($900 in total for all 90 days)

If Pulled Over:

  • $150-1500 fine, plus $750 fee if the license is revoked
  • 3 years possible of revoked license and registration
  • Possible 15 days of imprisonment
  • The vehicle may be impounded

If in An Accident:

  • $900-2250 fine
  • 1-3 years of revoked license and registration
  • Possible 15 days of imprisonment
  • The vehicle may be impounded

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in NC

First Offense:

  • $50 fine
  • 1-45 days of probation
  • 30 days of registration (and possibly license) suspension
  • $50 reinstatement fee (if the license is suspended)

Second Offense:

  • $100 fine
  • 1-45 day probation, or imprisonment
  • 30 days of registration (and possibly license) suspension
  • $50 reinstatement fee (if the license is suspended)

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $150 fine
  • 1-45 day probation, or imprisonment
  • 30 days of registration (and possibly license) suspension
  • $50 reinstatement fee (if the license is suspended)

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in ND

First Offense:

  • $150-1000 fine
  • License suspended until proof of insurance is provided
  • $80 in fees and SR-22 for 1 year
  • 6 points on license, or 14 when involved in an accident
  • Up to 30 days possible imprisonment

Subsequent Offenses (within 18 months):

  • $300-1000 fine
  • License suspended until proof of insurance is provided
  • $80 in fees and SR-22 for 1 year
  • 14 points on license
  • Up to 30 days possible imprisonment

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in OH

First Offense:

  • License and registration suspended until proof of insurance is provided
  • $160 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3-5 years

Second Offense:

  • 1 year of license and registration suspension (court may grant limited driving privileges after 15 days)
  • $360 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3-5 years
  • 60 days of vehicle immobilized and plates confiscated

Subsequent Offenses:

  • 2 years of license and registration suspension
  • $660 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3-5 years
  • The vehicle is taken and sold plus 5 years of prohibition on registering any new vehicles

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in OK

All Offenses:

  • Up to $250 fine and/or up to 30 days of possible imprisonment

If Pulled Over:

  • License plates removed plus license and registration suspension after 10 days
  • $400 in reinstatement fees

If in An Accident:

  • Vehicle possibly impounded
  • 1 year of license and registration suspension or until proof of insurance is provided
  • $575 in reinstatement fees

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in OR

All Offenses:

  • $260 or $130-1000 depending on the situation
  • License and registration suspended until proof of insurance provided
  • $75 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years
  • Monthly proof of continued insurance required for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in PA

All Offenses:

  • $300 fine
  • 3-month license and registration suspension if lapse is 31+ days
  • Optional $500 fee to restore registration early (can only do once per year)
  • $88 reinstatement fee

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in RI

First Offense:

  • $100-500 fine
  • 3 months of license and registration suspension
  • $433 in reinstatement fees and SR-22 for 1 year
  • $251 possible insurance verification fee

Second Offense:

  • $500 fine
  • 6 months of license and registration suspension
  • $433 in reinstatement fees and SR-22 for 1 year
  • $251 possible insurance verification fee

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $1000 fine
  • 1 year of license and registration suspension
  • $433 in reinstatement fees and SR-22 for 1 year
  • $251 possible insurance verification fee

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in SC

First Offense:

  • $100-200 fine
  • $500 Uninsured Motorist fee or SR-22
  • License and registration suspended until proof of insurance provided
  • $5/day fee until insurance is purchased
  • $200 reinstatement fee
  • 0-30 days of imprisonment

Second Offense:

  • $200 fine
  • License and registration suspended until proof of insurance provided
  • $5/day fee until insurance is purchased
  • $200 reinstatement fee
  • 30 days of imprisonment

Subsequent Offenses:

  • License and registration suspended until proof of insurance provided
  • $5/day fee until insurance is purchased
  • $200 reinstatement fee
  • 45-180 days of imprisonment

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in SD

All Offenses:

  • $100-500 fine
  • 1-12 month license and registration suspension
  • 0-30 days of imprisonment
  • $78-228 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in TN

All Offenses:

  • $25, then $100 fee after 15, and another $100 after a 30 day lapse
  • $300 fine for driving without insurance
  • License and registration suspended after 45 days of lapse until proof of insurance is provided
  • $105 reinstatement fee

If Pulled Over:

  • Retake license exam
  • SR-22 for 3 years

If in an Accident:

  • Up to $2500 fine
  • 0-12 months imprisonment

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in TX

First Offense:

  • $175-350 plus $750 over 3 years

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $300-1000 plus $750 over 3 years
  • 0-180 days of the vehicle impounded, with $15/day fee

If in an Accident:

  • Up to $4000 fine
  • 0-180 days of the vehicle impounded, with $15/day fee
  • 2 years of license and registration suspension and SR-22 for up to 2 years
  • 0-1 year of imprisonment

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in UT

First Offense:

  • $400 fine
  • License and registration suspension until proof of insurance provided or, if in an accident, 1 full year suspension
  • $180 in reinstatement fees and SR-22 for 3 years

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $1000 fine
  • License and registration suspension until proof of insurance provided or, if in an accident, 1 full year suspension
  • $180 in reinstatement fees and SR-22 for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in VT

All Offenses:

  • $100 fine, plus $500 if insurance has lapsed
  • License suspension until you submit proof of insurance

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in VA

All Offenses:

  • $500 fine
  • License and registration suspended until you submit proof of insurance
  • $145 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in WA

All Offenses:

  • $450 fine
  • Possible community service
  • $15 fee
  • 0-3 years of license suspension if an accident with $75 reinstatement fee

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in WV

First Offense:

  • $200-5000 fine or 15 days to 1 year of imprisonment
  • Registration suspension until you submit proof of insurance
  • 30 days of license suspension or $200 if proof of insurance is provided within 30 days
  • $150 reinstatement fees (unless proof of insurance was provided in 30 days) and SR-22 for 3 years

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $200-5000 fine or 15 days to 1 year of imprisonment
  • 90 days of license and registration suspension
  • $150 reinstatement fees and SR-22 for 3 years

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in WI

All Offenses:

  • Up to $510 fine
  • License suspended until proof of insurance is provided
  • $60 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years

If in an Accident:

  • 3 years license and registration suspension
  • $50 additional reinstatement fee

Maximum Fine for Driving Without Insurance in WY

First Offense:

  • $250-750 fine
  • License suspension until you provide proof of insurance
  • $50 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years
  • 0-6 months of imprisonment

Subsequent Offenses:

  • $500-1000 fine
  • License and registration suspension until you provide proof of insurance
  • $50 reinstatement fee and SR-22 for 3 years
  • 0-6 months of imprisonment

Sources for Statistics

  1. AAA Foundation419 Crashes per 100 million miles in 2008-2009 & 99 Injury Crashes per 100 million miles ->1 Crash per 238,663 miles & 1 Injury Crash per 1,010,101 miles.
  2. Bureau of Justice Statistics1 in 11.5 chance of pullover per year.
  3. Insurance.com6% increase in rates for no insurance and minimum 3 years on your record.
  4. Value PenguinAverage annual cost of insurance $907.38 in 2014.
  5. Insurance Research Council$15,506 average bodily injury claim amount & $8,017 average personal injury protection claim amount in 2015.
  6. Rocky Mountain Insurance Information Association$3,231 average property damage claim, $3,133 average collision claim & $1,621 average comprehensive claim in 2013.

IN THIS ARTICLE